Controlling MIDI File Player through GPScript

Hi everybody,
I’m quite new to GP, and I cannot control the MiIDI File Player from within a GPScript.

1. I made the MIDI Fille Player accessible through GPScript giving it the name Player

2. I first tried to write a script at the song level with the following declaration at the beginning:
    var Player : Block
    When compiling the script I get the error that that type (Block) cannot be used in scripts at the song level, but only at the rackspace level

3. So i wrote a rackspace script inserting the same declaration as before at the beginning; this time I get the erro that such declaration is not allowed…

So, how can I control the MIDI File Player through scripts?
What I would like to do is to change the midi file played by the player according to the active song part…

Thank you,

Luca

Hi Luca. The “type” to use is PluginBlock rather than just ‘Block’. I did notice that the online documentation doesn’t seem to mention PluginBlock ?

In rackspace scripts, once you’ve added your handles to any widgets or plugins, the easiest thing to do in the script editor is simply right-click and select the ‘Auto declare’ option. It will add all of those automatically for you.

However, the Song scripts don’t have direct access to the plugins in rackspaces. Is your MIDI file player in a local rackspace or the Global Rackspace?

Thank you rank13! yes, the online documentation does not mention the type PluginBlock :rage:

I would definitely suggest to GP develper team to upgrade the documentation, IMHO it’s not complete enough to let people using GPScript…

The problem now is that the callback Songpart is not accessible in rackspace scripts…

So I gues that I’ll have to insert my MIDI File Player in the Global Rackspace, am I right?

I tried but it seems that the Songpart callback can be overridden only within a script at the song level, but inside this kind of script I don’t have access to the PluginBlock… :roll_eyes: